Breaking: PDP’s Bala Mohammed wins Bauchi governorship election

Mohammed defeated incumbent Governor Muhammed Abubakar of the All Progressive Congress, (APC). The pending result of Tafawa Balewa was regenerated, collated and announced at the INEC headquarters on Monday night, March 25.

Announcing the result, the new collation officer of Tafawa Balewa Local government area, Dr Musa Dahiru of the Federal University Kashere, said that PDP polled 39,225 votes as against 30, 055 votes scored by the All Progressive Congress (APC) and incumbent Governor Muhammed Abubakar. Total registered voters at Tafawa Balewa LGA was 139,240 accredited voters 74,181, total votes cast was 73,779, total valid votes, 73041, rejected votes 738. Before the final announcement of the results of Tafawa Balewa LGA, PDP had polled 475,888 votes against 470,570 votes secured by the APC. However, with the addition of Tafawa Balewa LGA, PDP won with 515,113 votes against 500,625 votes secured by APC.

Meanwhile,  earlier reported that residents of Bauchi state called on Governor Abubakar to concede defeat after his re-election bid suffered a massive setback

The people made this call in reaction to the results of the just concluded supplementary elections which indicated that Abubakar lost to the candidate of the PDP. Abubakar who is seeking re-election for a second term in office had in 2015 defeated candidate of the then incumbent governor, Isa Yuguda.